38 Lamar student-athletes set to graduate Saturday



May 18, 2012

BEAUMONT, Texas - A total of 38 Lamar University student-athletes will receive their bachelor's degrees during the university's commencement ceremonies at the Montagne Center on Saturday.

Ten of the student-athletes earned All-Southland Conference honors at least once during their Lamar playing careers, while two have garnered Academic All-Conference kudos during their time at Lamar.

Football has the most graduating seniors with 11. The eight graduating baseball players won't be at Saturday's commencement exercises, as they will be in San Antonio for the Cardinals' regular-season finale against UTSA. Kevin Hesbois of the men's golf team will also miss Saturday's ceremonies, as he is competing in the NCAA Regionals in Greensboro, N.C.

For Tom Wade and his twin brother Joe, members of the men's track team, Saturday's commencement does not mean the end of their careers. Both will represent Lamar in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the NCAA West Regional Preliminaries next week in Austin, Texas.

"As a department, we are very proud of all of our graduating student-athletes," said Helene Thill, Lamar's associate athletic director for academic affairs. "Graduation shows the emphasis our coaches and administrators put on academic success. Our student-athletes have worked hard throughout their career at Lamar University and they have accomplished their ultimate goal." A list of the graduating Lamar student-athletes is below.

BASEBALL (8): Zachary Boulanger, Bronson Buell, Andrew Dewey, John Gilligan, Cory Holley, Albert Lott, Zach Luevanos and John Ramirez.

MEN'S BASKETBALL (5): Brandon Davis, Michael James, Devon Lamb, Vincenzo Nelson and Matthew Pace (manager).

MEN'S CROSS COUNTRY/TRACK (5): Aaron Malek, Jerel Massenburge, Joshua Raglon, Joe Wade and Tom Wade.

WOMEN'S CROSS COUNTRY/TRACK (3): Emily Carpenter, Taylor Cloy and Ashley Smith.

FOOTBALL (11): Andre Bevil, Ryan Clark, Kevin Davis, Taylor Davis, Cameron Epple, J.J. Hayes, Marcus Jackson, Ryan Jones, Joshua Powdrill, Mark Woodley and John Woods.

MEN'S GOLF (2): Jake Fuljenz, Kevin Hesbois.

WOMEN'S GOLF (1): Ashley Thorpe.

WOMEN'S SOCCER (1): Jennifer Gibbs

MEN'S TENNIS (1): Marton Horvath

WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALL (1): Cynthia McCollum


    Rotating Image