Johnsen, Topping are Scholar-Athletes of the Year

GO CARDINALS Matt Johnsen was the Student-Athlete of the Year for cross country and indoor track.
Matt Johnsen was the Student-Athlete of the Year for cross country and indoor track.

June 25, 2012

BEAUMONT, Texas - Juniors Matt Johnsen and Lisa Topping were selected as Lamar's Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year, the conference announced Monday.

The Southland Conference annually recognizes the outstanding male and female student-athletes from each of the league's member institutions. Student-athletes must be a letterwinner with a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and have completed at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the school from which he or she was nominated. The student-athletes were selected by their respective institution administrators.

Johnsen (Broulee, Australia), was the Southland Conference Student-Athlete of the Year for men's cross country and men's indoor track. Johnsen was second at the Southland Conference Cross Country Championships, leading Lamar to its sixth consecutive team title. During the indoor track season, he won the Southland Conference title in the men's 5,000 meters and placed second in the 3,000 meters. In the classroom, Johnsen carries a 3.80 GPA in kinesiology.

Topping (Leyland, England) , a midfielder on the women's soccer team, played in all 19 games for the Lady Cardinals this past season, making 17 starts. She had three goals and four assists to finish fourth on the team in scoring with 10 points. The psychology major carries a 3.81 GPA. Last season, the Lady Cardinals had their most successful season in their four-year history, going 9-8-2 overall and 6-2-1 in the Southland Conference.

2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Lamar: Matt Johnsen (Men's Cross Country/Track) and Lisa Topping (Soccer)

Central Arkansas: Seth Allison (Football) and Katie McGregor (Softball)

McNeese State: Ben Chretien (Men's Track & Field) and Caitlyn Baggett (Women's Basketball)

Nicholls State: Jordan Hanberry (Football) and Carolyn Noble (Soccer)

Northwestern State: Wade Williams (Football) and Kelee Grimes (Softball)

Sam Houston State: Travis Watson (Football) and Morgan Davis (Women's Track & Field)

Southeastern Louisiana: Jordan Hymel (Baseball) and Kyle MacIntosh (Soccer)

Stephen F. Austin: Jarid Scarafiotti (Baseball) and Kylie Louw (Soccer)

UT Arlington: David Subirats (Men's Tennis) and Courtney Zink (Softball)

UTSA: Phil Steinert (Men's Track & Field) and Kelsey Jewasko (Volleyball)

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi: Nathan Robinson (Men's Tennis) and Hannah Schwarz (Softball)

Texas State: Tyler Sibley (Baseball) and Kelsey Bernard (Soccer)


    Rotating Image