Track continues season at McNeese

GO CARDINALS <b>Emma Lowry</b>
Emma Lowry

April 11, 2014

BEAUMONT – It would seem that much of the Lamar men’s and women’s track and field team would be headed for familiar surroundings at this weekend’s McNeese Spring Time Classic, but that won’t be the case as just 15 athletes on the 43-person travel roster competed at last season’s Southland Championships at McNeese State’s Cameron Communications Track and Field Complex.

Many of those new faces will be competing on the track, beginning with the sprints group, which will feature both Xavier Broussard and Thomas Lightfoot in the 100 meter dash. Both sat out the 2014 outdoor season, and the former will also compete in the long jump. Two more freshmen, Jared Benford and Chance Williams, are slated to run in the 200, and Benford is also scheduled to participate in the long jump.

Compared to the men’s side, veterans will anchor the women’s sprinters, beginning with sophomores Sarah Shim and Sydney Wandix. The duo will compete in both the 100 and 200. They’ll be joined in the latter race by long jumpers Nicole Alozie and Beatrice Douglas as well as a regular hurdler in Dominique Taylor.

Another jumper, Robert Badillo, will run in the 400, where he’ll be joined by freshmen Brandon Franz and Kevyn Smith. Aaron Bennett will also participate in the event, and he’s looking to add to an already strong reputation that includes the best 800 time in the conference.



Six Lady Cardinals will run the 400, including freshmen Bianca Allen, Zoia Carr, Nia Davis and JaLana Owens. A senior in Elzbieta Gawron and a sophomore in Chasity Peters rounds out the scheduled participants.

The trio of Sean Chalmers, TaMar Hicks and Rachael Davee will run in the 800, and five Lady Cards will compete 1,500, including Belinda Aguilar and Claire Arnold, who were both members of the Southland championship-winning LU cross country squad. They’ll be joined by Angela LaBorde, Nora-Beth Saunders and Kaitlynn Warren.

Three more freshmen will run in the 3,000 meter steeplechase as Sean Guiney and Tye Norman will race on the men’s side and Megan Flanagan will compete for the women.

Le’Trey Burton and Brielle Johnson are slated to participate in both hurdles events and Taylor will join in for the 100 meter hurdles.

Eleven Cards are slated to participate in the long jump as Badillo, Benford and Broussard will compete alongside Michael Lester and Johnathon Reece. Alozie, Douglas, Leslie Beard, Erin Brown, Brianna Foley and Carissa Hill will jump for the women.

Beard, LU’s school record holder in the pole vault will join Hannah Callaway in the event, and both Reece and Douglas are also looking to continue moving up the school performance list in the high jump.

Denisha Nichols will throw the discus, and she’ll be joined by Emma Lowry, who is competing in the event for the first time in the Red and White.


    Rotating Image