Branden Thomas named to 2013 CFPA Watch List

GO CARDINALS <b>Branden Thomas</b>
Branden Thomas

June 17, 2013

BEAUMONT – Lamar University’s Branden Thomas was recognized Monday by the College Football Performance Awards as the senior was named to the watch list for the 2013 CFPA Defensive Back Award.

The Beaumont Central product was one of 36 returning players named to the watch list of players vying for the top defensive back in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). 

Thomas was named honorable mention All-Southland Conference in 2012 after leading the Cardinals, and tying for the league lead, with four interceptions on the year. The 5-foot-9, 170-pound cornerback added 45 tackles on the season to rank fourth on the team.

“Branden is a four-year starter for us and is an outstanding, versatile football player,” said LU head coach Ray Woodard. “Not only does he bring so much to the defensive backfield, but he is also a valuable player on our special teams.”

Thomas finished with six pass breakups last season and ranked among the league leaders in passes defended in 2012. Thomas enters his senior season with 100 total tackles and eight interceptions.

"Congratulations to Branden Thomas on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Head Coach Ray Woodard has an excellent returning defensive back for 2013."

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL defensive backs include: Earl Thomas (Texas), Patrick Peterson (LSU), Mark Barron (Alabama), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Phillip Thomas (Fresno State), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Cliff Harris (Oregon), Javier Arenas (Alabama), Trumaine Johnson (Montana), Asa Jackson (Cal Poly), Laron Scott (Georgia Southern), Anthony Walters (Delaware), DeAndre Presley (Appalachian State), Justin Bethel (Presbyterian), Korey Lindsey (Southern Illinois), Mark LeGree, (Appalachian State), and Ryan Steed (Furman).




    Rotating Image