Lamar Men Finish Second, Women Fourth at A&M Invite

GO CARDINALS Francis Kasagule won his second title of the year at the Texas A&M Invitational
Francis Kasagule won his second title of the year at the Texas A&M Invitational

Sept. 22, 2007

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Lamar University men's and women's cross country teams returned to action Saturday morning at the Texas A&M Invitational, the LU men placing second and the Lady Cardinals taking fourth place.

The Cardinal men were led by Francis Kasagule who won the 8,000 meter event in a time of 24:11, pulling away from TCU's Festus Kigen and Texas A&M's David Hebert down the stretch. It was the second time in as many events this season that Kasagule has captured a meet title.

Samuel Kosgei joined Kasagule in the top five, placing fifth in a time of 24:32, while Danny Shaw grabbed 11th place with a 25:09 performance. Frank Bwambale rounded out Lamar's finishers in the top 15, placing 14th in a time of 25:18.

Randy Becker finished in 29th place for the Cards in a time of 26:07 and Aaron Brannen was 33rd in a time of 26:20. Rounding out the Lamar men's finishers were Ewan Simpson and Jared Rodriguez who finished 46th and 49th respectively. Simpson finished in 26:58, while Rodriguez posted a time of 27:00.

With a score of 42 points the Aggies won their fifth consecutive team title as they held off a strong challenge from the Cardinals, who posted 52 points for second place. Rounding out the top five teams were Texas-Arlington (102), Houston (137) and TCU (148).

The rest of the men's field included UT-Pan American in sixth place with 154 points followed by Sam Houston State (174), Texas A&M-Commerce (181), Texas A&M Alumni (247) and Texas A&M International (276).

On the women's side Renee Graham and Clerc Koenck each had solid performances, finishing in second and fourth place respectively. Graham earned her second runner up finish of the season, running the 5,000 meter race in a time of 17:34, while Koenck posted a time of 17:44.



Rachel Kingsford rounded out LU's top 20 finishers, posting a time of 18:49 for a 19th place finish, while Stacey Monteau finished in 34th place with a 19:19 performance. Andrea Smith ran a 19:45 for 43 place, Karesse Lethermon was 49th in 19:56 and Mercy Bungei finished 57th in a time of 20:24.

Rice captured the team title with 30 points, Texas totaled 62 points for second place, the Texas A&M women took third with 71, Lamar was fourth with 85 points and Texas-Pan American (180) rounded out the top five. The rest of the field included TCU (181), Texas-Arlington (188), Sam Houston State (212), Houston (214), Prairie View A&M (308), Texas A&M-Commerce (336) and Texas A&M International (355).

The Cardinals return to action next week when they head to Minneapolis, Minn. for the Griak Invitational, one of the nations top cross country competitions.

Men's Results
1. Francis Kasagule; 24:11
5. Samuel Kosgei; 24:32
11. Danny Shaw; 25:09
14. Frank Bwambale; 25:18
29. Randy Becker; 26:07
33. Aaron Brannen; 26:20
46. Ewan Simpson; 26:58
49. Jared Rodriguez; 27:00

Women's Results
2. Renee Graham; 17:34
4. Clerc Koenck; 17:44
19. Rachel Kingsford; 18:49
34. Stacey Monteau; 19:19
43. Andrea Smith; 19:45
49. Karesse Lethermon; 19:56
57. Mercy Bungei; 20:14

    Rotating Image