Lamar Cross Country Opens 2007 Season at Baylor Twilight Invitational

GO CARDINALS All American Francis Kasagule
All American Francis Kasagule

Aug. 30, 2007

WACO, Texas - The Lamar University men's and women's cross country teams will open the 2007 season Friday evening at the Baylor Twilight Invitational at the Baylor University intramural fields in Waco, Texas.

The Lady Cardinals return four letterwinners from their 2006 Southland Conference championship team, led by two-time NCAA qualifier Renee Graham and defending Southland Conference champion Clerc Koenck. Stacey Monteau and Karesse Lethermon will be looked to for additional leadership while cross country newcomers Rachel Kingsford, Andrea Smith and Merci Bungei, all three of which ran indoor and outdoor track last year, will bolster the lineup.

The Cardinal men return their entire team from a year ago, a team which won the 2006 Southland Conference championship. All American Francis Kasagule and NCAA qualifier Samuel Kosgei will lead the way for all SLC runners Frank Bwambale and Danny Shaw again this year. Also returning is Aaron Brannen, Randy Becker and Ewan Simpson, while Hamish Meacheam returns after missing the 2006 season due to injury.

The Cards have also added five newcomers to the team, as Drew Bean, Aaron Malek, Austin Malek, Spencer Prudhomme and Jared Rodriguez fill out the lineup.

Joining Lamar at the meet will be men's and women's cross country teams from Dallas Baptist, Baylor, Houston, Texas A&M, TCU, Texas Lutheran and Texas-Tyler, as well as the women's team from SMU and the men's team from Texas.



"This will be a good meet to start the season for us," said cross country coach Sita Waru-Ewell. "The women's competition should be very strong with several of the teams ranking in the top of the region, while the men's race should also be very competitive."

After Friday's meet, the cross country teams will be in action again on September 22, when they run at the Texas A&M Invitational.

    Rotating Image