Lamar Cross Country Leads the Way With Seven All Conference Runners



Oct. 31, 2007

BEAUMONT - After nailing down their second straight conference championship the Lamar University men's cross country team had four runners earn all-Southland Conference honors, coach Sita Waru-Ewell was named coach of the year while the women's team had three runners honored and Clerc Koenck was named the conference athlete of the year.

Koenck was named athlete of the year for the second straight season, after running to a first place finish in the 6,000 meter race in a time of 20:48.1, her second straight title. She became the fifth consecutive SLC champion to repeat as champion of the conference.

Waru-Ewell earned her fifth cross country coach of the year award after the men won title. She was named coach of the year for both the men and the women in 2006 after Lamar took the title in both competitions. Her first two coach of the year awards came in 2004 and 2005 when the LU women won the SLC title. As a program, Lamar has won five of the last eight cross country titles between the men and the women in the last four years.

Joining Koenck as an all conference runner on the women's side was Renee Graham who finished in second place and Rachel Kingsford who took 10th place. This was the third straight year for Graham to finish second at the SLC championship, and was Kingsford's first appearance at the conference meet.

On the men's side Francis Kasagule, Samuel Kosgei and Frank Bwambale all earned all conference honors for the second straight year, while Danny Shaw picked up his third straight honor. Kasagule notched a second place finish and Kosgei was fourth, giving both runners top five finishes in their two appearances in the SLC meet. Bwambale grabbed a seventh place finish and Shaw was tenth.



Between the men and the women Lamar had seven athletes earn all conference honors, the most for any school in the conference. Texas A&M Corpus Christi had five individuals named to their respective all conference squads, three women and two men, UT-Arlington had three men named all conference while Southeastern Louisiana had two runners, one male and one female, earn the honors. Stephen F. Austin and Central Arkansas each had one woman earn all SLC honors.

    Rotating Image