Ten Former Athletes, and a Coach Named to SLC Indoor T&F Honor Roll

GO CARDINALS Lamar coaches and athletes recognized for indoor track and field success.
Lamar coaches and athletes recognized for indoor track and field success.

Dec. 19, 2013

FRISCO, Texas - Ten former Lamar men's and women's track and field athletes, and one former head coach have been named to the Southland Conference All-Time Track and Field Honor Roll announced league officials Thursday morning. The team consisted of six former men's athletes and four Lady Cardinal athletes.

The breakdown of events was weighted heavily toward the track as nine athletes were recognized for their skills in the running events, with one field athlete being recognized. The former Cardinals honored are Doug Hinds (Sprints), Grover Burnham (middle distance), Francis Kasagule (distance), Samuel Kosgei (distance), Joe Wade (middle distance) and Thomas Eriksson (jumps), while the list of Lady Cardinals included Alicia McIntosh (sprints), Becky Brooke (middle distance), Renee Graham (distance), Clerc Koenck (middle distance and distance). Sonny Jolly was the former Lamar coach recognized on the all-time team.

One of the most decorated track athletes in program history, Kasagule dominated the Southland during his time in Beaumont. Serving notice during his first season on campus, the former league freshman of the year went on to set school records in the mile run and 3,000 meters. A three-time conference champion in the mile, Kasagule proved he could step up in the distance events by also taking home the 3,000 meters during his rookie season. A former SLC Indoor Athlete of the Year, Kasagule wrapped up his career by earning two indoor outstanding track performer awards and two high-point scorer awards.

Kosgei took his domination on the track beyond the conference level. A two-time 5,000-meter champion, Kosgei earned indoor All-America honors in the event in 2009. He also won back-to-back league crowns in the 3,000 meters as well.

A trend-setter for the Cardinals on the track, Hinds is arguably the best sprinter in program history. He recorded back-to-back titles with the 440-yard dash during the 1981 and 1982 seasons. While Hinds was burning up the track in the long sprints, Burnham was finding equal success for Lamar in the middle distances. Burnham recorded his first conference indoor title during the 1982 season, and was able to follow that up by repeating as league champion the following year.



Wade continued the tradition of excellence in the middle distance events that Burnham started for Lamar. Wade brought home three individual titles during indoor season as a Cardinal. A back-to-back champion in the mile run, Wade also won the 2011 indoor 800-meter title as well.

The program's most decorated jumper, Ericksson recorded five individual titles during the indoor championships as a Cardinal. While his strength was clearly in the high jump, Eriksson recorded wins in all three jump disciplines. A three-time SLC Indoor high jump champion, between 1982 and 1985, Eriksson also grabbed the long jump title in 1984, and followed that up with a triple jump championship during his final season.

Koenck was not only one of the more dominate athletes in school history, but one the most highly decorated athletes in Southland history as well. An asset to Lamar in both the distance and middle distance events, Koenck recorded four conference titles as indoor athlete. Winning both the mile and 3,000-meter runs during the 2007 and 2008 seasons, Koenck was recognized by the league as the most outstanding track performer and athlete of the year both seasons. She also owns the SLC record in the mile (4:47.16).

Graham was also a multiple conference champion in distance events. While Koenck was taking the league titles in the mile and 3,000 meters during the 2007-08 seasons, Graham completed the LU sweep of the meets in the three longest events by taking the 5,000-meter title both years.

Brooke began the Lady Cardinals tradition of success in the middle distances. She was a multiple conference champion during the 1987 season winning both the 1,000-meter and mile runs, while McIntosh is the Southland Conference's all-time record-holder in the 60-meter dash blazing across the finish line with a time of 7.29 during the 2,000 season.

Jolly set the standard for success for Southland coaches. The Southland Conference Hall of Honor inductee won the first six SLC men's indoor titles dominating the league standings from 1980-85.


    Rotating Image